On January 1, 2017, the minimum wage for New Jersey employees will increase from $8.38 per hour to $8.46 per hour. The increase was announced by the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development and is based on the 0.66% increase in the consumer price index (CPI) for all urban wage earners and clerical workers, as released by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics between August 2015 through August 2016.
In 2013, a New Jersey voter referendum overwhelmingly approved of an amendment to the State Constitution to raise the minimum wage and tie future increases to the minimum wage to inflation. Since 2013, the minimum wage in New Jersey has increased from $7.25 per hour to the current $8.38 per hour. The increase to $8.46 effective January 1, 2017 will be the first increase since January 2015.
Matthew R. Tavares focuses his practice in Litigation, Employment Law, and School Law matters. He is a trained mediator and has successfully mediated small claims and special civil part matters.
You may contact Matt at (908) 751-1551, or firstname.lastname@example.org.